Dear Clementine
Dear Clementine
Voice Notes: Blood Sports
15
0:00
-16:38

Voice Notes: Blood Sports

On Amber Heard and the hunger for women’s humiliation
15

Hey besties,

I really love doing these voice notes! Thank you for being part of a space where I can share my unfiltered thoughts, without having to wrestle with Instagram’s absurd guidelines.

I was tagged today in a reel discussing the show trial John Depp launched last year against Amber Heard as punishment for her a) leaving him and b) his abuse of her coming to light. The comments on that reel reminded me of how horrendously the public treated Heard, and how obviously titillated they all were by the perceived “permission” they felt they had to destroy her.

I talk about the impact of that in this voice note. Other mentions:

  • Marina Abramovic’s art installation, “Rhythm 0”

  • Content creation and co-opting real life stories of harassment to grow followings

  • The legal system

These voice notes would normally be only available to my paid subscribers, but I wanted to make this one accessible to everyone. If you enjoy these takes, you can become a paid subscriber to receive regular posts like this in your inbox.

Clem x

Dear Clementine is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Dear Clementine
Dear Clementine
Feminism. Movies. Polemic. Tarot. What can I say, I contain multitudes.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clementine Ford